Metrum Acoustics Onyx (balanced Dac) and Jade (balanced Dac + Pre)

Discussion in 'Digital: DACs, USB converters, decrapifiers' started by sacredgates, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. skem

    skem Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Dislikes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    I’m sort of surprised by this. I have bought two DACs from Metrum and they have always been unbelievably responsive and accommodating. In one case, I was going to be traveling a few days later and so instructed them not to ship until I returned. Instead they offered to overnight the DAC from Netherlands to US so I could have it before my trip. I also requested a return/refund on the other DAC and that was processed promptly.
     
  2. data.noodle

    data.noodle Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Likes Received:
    49
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    for what it's worth, i have asked technical questions back in the old days before Anjo when Cees was fielding emails and he was very also very vague.
     
  3. msommers

    msommers High on Epipens

    Friend
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Dislikes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Home Page:
    I've had good luck with getting questions from Maria but mostly recently it's been dark. I wonder I'd they're having email issues or a change of employees.

    My experience with Metrum online and the Canadian distributor has been good, so I'm surprised by the complaints.
     
  4. earnmyturns

    earnmyturns Smartest friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Palo Alto
    Home Page:
    I've had very good experiences with Metrum. In fact, I have an Onyx because Anjo was kind enough to lend me one for an indefinite period after I screwed up buying an Ambre not realizing that adapting its I2S output to drive a Holo Spring would be a non-trivial digital circuit building project. Ended up liking the Onyx more, buying it at a very nice discount, and selling the Spring and an SU-1 that became obsolete. Net-net, it was a very cheap upgrade, and Anjo helped me all along.
     
    skem likes this.
  5. purr1n

    purr1n Finding his inner redneck

    Staff Member Friend BWC
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Likes Received:
    48,411
    Dislikes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Antarctica
    So they are cool if you decide to actually buy a product. But not cool if you want a return where they net nothing, despite advertising a 30-day try out policy?
     
    elmoe likes this.
  6. uelover

    uelover Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Likes Received:
    48
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Singapore
    Yes. They have been very nice when I was talking with them to buy the Onyx. They even offered me a discount in an attempt to persuade me to keep it when I told them that I wanted to return it because the sound signature is not to my liking (which I declined the discount).

    Now, after returning the item, I can’t even get a refund or a reply from Metrum.
     
  7. purr1n

    purr1n Finding his inner redneck

    Staff Member Friend BWC
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Likes Received:
    48,411
    Dislikes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Antarctica
    I went through your messages and they go back to 3/26! Holy cow! You've been patient.

    According to their policy posted on their website, they will issue refund by 14 days.

    Did you buy with a credit card?

    Worst case is they could be screwing with you if you are not in Europe since you wouldn't have any legal recourse.
     
  8. Magnetostatic_Tubephile

    Magnetostatic_Tubephile Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Likes Received:
    435
    Dislikes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    GoogleChrome, EU
    One reason behind the delays might be that they are simply overwhelmed by the growing customer base. Metrum is getting more and more popular worldwide based on what I noticed. Not advocating, just stating a possible contributing factor.

    Ive had great experience with them, getting replies even during nighttime. But that was all connected with my purchase, no support needed from them later on.
     
  9. data.noodle

    data.noodle Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Likes Received:
    49
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    it looked like you were trying to contact individual people directly, i would suggest using their normal support addresses if you're not getting a response for any company (regardless of industry).
     
  10. purr1n

    purr1n Finding his inner redneck

    Staff Member Friend BWC
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Likes Received:
    48,411
    Dislikes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Antarctica
    I'd try that. Wait 5 days. Then light up their social media accounts that you've been waiting for a refund but have gotten the silent treatment.
     
    Jinxy245 and uelover like this.
  11. uelover

    uelover Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Likes Received:
    48
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Singapore
    I was trying to contact their CEO (Anjo).


    They were extremely responsive in their communication, prior to sales to before receiving the item back from me, and then, dead silence. Being busy or overloaded by a growing customer base cannot be an excuse for this sudden change in attitude.
     
    crenca likes this.
  12. Magnetostatic_Tubephile

    Magnetostatic_Tubephile Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Likes Received:
    435
    Dislikes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    GoogleChrome, EU
    Not an excuse, rather an observation. The recent posts in this thread suggest that Metrum is lacking in process implementation or process execution of post-sales customer support (aka continuous service delivery). I hope they learn from this particular incident shared in public to step up their game.
     
  13. data.noodle

    data.noodle Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Likes Received:
    49
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    I know, that's why I gave the advice I did. I've had nothing but positive experiences with metrum over the years, if you returned the dac within the return window I would be more than shocked if you didn't receive a refund eventually (potentially sooner if you weren't emailing individuals directly).
     
  14. uelover

    uelover Acquaintance

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Likes Received:
    48
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Singapore
    I did bought via PayPal using credit card, but that was in Nov 18.

    The full story: I bought the item back in late Nov 18, received it in early Dec 18. Trialed it for two weeks, and proceeded to initiate a return in mid-Dec 18. Then, I asked Metrum Acoustics if there are any special instruction to be indicated or noted on the parcel, which they advised to be none. So, I proceeded to send it using Singapore Post EMS. When the item reached the Netherlands in Dec 18, the item was dutiable at EUR616, and had to be collected from their post office. The item was not collected and eventually returned back to sender (received it back in early Mar 19).

    Metrum Acoustics agreed to continue to honour the return, and so I sent the item back again.

    I have pasted the two shipment tracking details to prove my above account,

    I have sent them a final email to their general email account as advised by @data.noodle and @purr1n. Hopefully, this time round it will work (except for the typo error in my last sentence).

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. bengo

    bengo Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Dislikes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Divisive Kingdom
    Home Page:
    I also had very good experiences in the past with Metrum - they repaired my Octave twice (even though it was bought used, not from them, and certainly beyond the usual warranty period). No charge for repairs or return shipping.

    I also got very good and detailed responses from Cees himself. But I assume (as a few others pointed out already) this is changing, due to the growing customer base.
     
  16. rlow

    rlow A happy woofer

    Friend
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    Dislikes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah Schiit has had support issues in the recent past as well as they’ve grown in size - emails not being replied to quickly (or at all), and other issues. This prompted Jason to invest in help desk software and better support processes so that things wouldn’t fall through the cracks. Emailing a CEO can sometimes help, sometimes not (sometimes they’re too busy to deal with individual customer complaints).

    In general, I tend to err on the side of assuming there’s just shitty processes or systems behind the scenes causing problems (which I’ve personally worked within) rather than malicious intent, but this can only be allowed to go on for so long before you have to start throwing social media bombs to get their attention.
     
    crenca and msommers like this.
  17. MisterRogers

    MisterRogers Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Home Page:
    ^ Same here - a bunch of communication with Cees, their CS department, etc. All of it good, some of it very technical. I'd be inclined to give them the benefit of the doubt that they're struggling through growing pains.
     
    msommers likes this.
  18. purr1n

    purr1n Finding his inner redneck

    Staff Member Friend BWC
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Likes Received:
    48,411
    Dislikes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Antarctica
    This is ridiculous. I wouldn't be giving anyone the benefit of the doubt. Numerous attempts by @uelover since December? From what I've seen nicely worded. I don't see @uelover being a dick.

    Yes, Schiit has / had shitty service, even with me (I try not to go through Jason), and usually one or two follow up e-mails to their support worked. Maybe a week. Maybe two.

    When there is money on the line, this quiet treatment intentional or not, is ridiculous. This is months now.

    Any of you guys who have had had great correspondences with Cees should help @uelover by getting in touch with Cees to let him know about this. Speaking about your excellent experiences with Cees like is pissing on @uelover's face right now.

    I've done the same with Craig and Jason, and in a few cases with Craig frankly told him to stop being a dickwad and treat this customers fairly.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    elmoe, uelover, Ash1412 and 4 others like this.
  19. MisterRogers

    MisterRogers Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Home Page:
    Ya, fair points. I'll reach out to Cees, see if I can get a response.
     
    uelover, purr1n and Jerry like this.
  20. m17xr2b

    m17xr2b Friend

    Friend
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Likes Received:
    2,153
    Dislikes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    United Kingdomland of fish and chips
    Pavane L2 > Yggdrasil A1 for bass, A2 is too close to call and track dependant, similar amount of slam, a hair warmer overall on Pavane. I can't see anyone choosing between either strictly on bass performance.
     
    bengo, Ash1412, neogeosnk and 3 others like this.

Share This Page